Hull FC squad numbers named for 2017 season

2016 Challenge Cup winners Hull FC have confirmed their squad numbers for the new Super League season.

2016 Challenge Cup winners Hull FC have confirmed their squad numbers for the new Super League season.

New signing Albert Kelly has been handed the number six jersey following the departure of Leon Pryce, whilst fellow new addition Josh Griffin takes the number four shirt, with Jack Logan taking 24 in place of the retiring Kirk Yeaman.

Jake Connor and Nick Rawsthorne, two of the club’s other acquisitions for next year, have been awarded numbers 14 and 23, respectively.

Captain Gareth Ellis moves to squad number 13 whilst Hull-born back rower Dean Hadley takes his old number of 11, also worn previously by head coach Lee Radford.

Danny Washbrook, who returned to the Black and Whites last season after three years with Wakefield Trinity, takes the 17 jersey.

Man of Steel winner Danny Houghton once again wears his customary No.9 jersey, with Lance Todd Trophy winner, Marc Sneyd, in No.7.

Dream Team members Jamie Shaul, Mahe Fonua, Scott Taylor and Mark Minichiello all keep the same numbers from last season too.

Commenting on the squad numbers, Radford said: “Squad numbers don’t mean a great deal to me as a coach. It’s irrelevant of what number players have on their back.

“Selection will always be based on application at training and an individual’s current form.”

A number of younger players who recently stepped up from the City of Hull Academy or a part of the club’s reserve squad are also training with the first-team, but will have to wait before they’re handed their official squad numbers.

The likes of England Academy hooker, Jez Litten, new arrival, Jack Wray, and reserve team Player of the Year, Mike Adlard, will all have to earn the spurs over the coming season as they push for their debut.

Radford explained, “We have a number of the young players in and around the first team squad, but they will have to earn those by working hard in training.”

Young half back Jordan Abdull, who wore No.13 last season, has not been handed a squad number as he will spend the full season on loan at Hull Kingston Rovers in the Championship, before returning to the club in 2018.

The full list of squad numbers is as follows:

1. Jamie Shaul
2. Mahe Fonua
3. Carlos Tuimavave
4. Josh Griffin
5. Fetuli Talanoa
6. Albert Kelly
7. Marc Sneyd
8. Scott Taylor
9. Danny Houghton
10. Liam Watts
11. Dean Hadley
12. Mark Minichiello
13. Gareth Ellis
14. Jake Connor
15. Chris Green

16. Jordan Thompson
17. Danny Washbrook
18. The Faithful
19. Steve Michaels
20. Curtis Naughton
21. Sika Manu
22. Josh Bowden
23. Nick Rawsthorne
24. Jack Logan
25. Jansin Turgut
26. Callum Lancaster
27. Jack Downs
28. Brad Fash
29. Masimbaashe Matongo

Story Sponsor